Buffalo Ranch

When I lived in Southey, Saskatchewan in 2007, I met some great friends and ate some great wings! Clearly, this was way before I became a vegan!

At the Southey Hotel and Steak Pit you could get wings for cheap – I think $0.10 each back then (I’m not sure their cost now days). My favourite flavour was Buffalo Wings.

Luckily, I’ve stayed in touch with the friends I made when I lived there and one of them used to work at the Steak Pit. I inquired what made up the Buffalo sauce and it was simply Ranch Dressing and Hot Sauce … so I set out to find a vegan ranch dressing:

Original recipe from Happy. Healthy. Life.

Ingredients:

  • 1 heaping tbsp Veganaise
  • 1 ½ heaping tbsp Tofutti Sour Cream
  • 2 tsp agave syrup
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • dash of paprika
  • dash of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 2 – 3 tbsp Frank’s Hot Sauce

Instructions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl with a whisk or fork.
  2. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Being vegan, I don’t eat chicken anymore … but I do eat tofu. So I decided to cube some tofu and marinate it directly in the sauce. I’ve got some mixed rice and quinoa in the rice cooker and I’ll serve the rice mix with the heated tofu.

Hopefully it turns out good … review to be added.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

