Stuffed Manicotti

When I was out getting groceries last week I came upon the pasta aisle. Since doing my kitchen/pantry inventory, I have come to realize that I don’t need to buy any spaghetti, fettuccine or small shells – I do, however, have no manicotti or jumbo shells!

So I bought both and both have been sitting on my counter awaiting some inspiration. I researched some stuffed manicotti recipes this weekend and decided to use a few together and create a Gona Be Vegan Original Recipe.

IMG_3728

Serves 3 with a light side or serves 2 on its own.

Ingredients:

  • 6 manicotti shells
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 Field Roast Italian sausage, chopped
  • 4 oz extra firm tofu, chopped
  • 2 oz Soya Mozza, shredded
  • 2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • Earth Balance butter
  • 10 oz tomato sauce

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Boil a pot of water and cook manicotti for approximately 6 minutes – until just flexible.
  3. Heat olive oil in a frying pan on medium heat.
  4. Add shallot and garlic – sauté for 2 minutes.
  5. Add sausage and tofu – sauté for 3 – 5 minutes.
  6. In a bowl, mix cheese through oregano.
  7. Add sausage mix to cheese mix and stir to combine.
  8. Lightly grease a 9×9 casserole dish with butter.
  9. Spread ½ tomato sauce on bottom of casserole dish.
  10. Stuff each shell as full as possible without splitting the manicotti.
  11. Place stuffed manicotti in casserole dish.
  12. Top with remaining ½ tomato sauce.
  13. Cover and bake for 20 – 25 minutes.
  14. Uncover and bake for 10 – 15 minutes.

Gona Be Vegan Original Recipe review:

I’m surprisingly impressed! Normally when I put my own mind to work and create a dish without a recipe, it doesn’t turn out so well. This was pretty good!

I would suggest more cheese (maybe double the amount) and maybe more tomato sauce too – just to keep the manicotti moist, so that it doesn’t dry out and get crunchy.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

