Grandma’s Christmas Cake

I cannot say how much I LOVE my late Grandma’s Christmas Cake … but since becoming vegan after last Christmas, I am faced with the challenge of veganizing her recipe! I was lucky enough to find the recipe in a drawer in Grandpa’s kitchen, so now I need to work at making it just as good … but WAY healthier!

Here is the original recipe (the changes in this colour represent the ⅓ sized recipe I made):

Ingredients
  • Group 1
    • 1 lb (5 oz.) currants
    • 1 lb (5 oz.) dates
    • 1 lb (5 oz.) seeded raisins
    • 1 lb (5 oz.) sultanas
    • ½ lb (2 ½ oz.) cherries, dried
    • ½ lb (2 ½ oz.) mixed peel
    • 1 cup (⅓ cup) almonds (slivered)
    • 1 cup (⅓ cup) walnuts (chunks)
    • grated lemon and orange rind (1 of each fruit)
    • 1 cup (⅓ cup) flour
  • Group 2
    • 1 tsp (⅓ tsp) sea salt
    • 4 tbsp (1 ⅓ tbsp) cocoa
    • 2 tsp (⅔ tsp) cinnamon
    • ½ tsp (⅓ of ½ tsp) nutmeg
    • ½ tsp (⅓ of ½ tsp) ground cloves
    • ½ tsp (⅓ of ½ tsp) allspice
    • ½ tsp (⅓ of ½ tsp) ground ginger
    • 3 cups (1 cup) flour
  • Group 3
    • 1 lb (5 oz.) butter
    • 2 ½ cups (a bit more than ¾ cup) white sugar
    • 10 eggs (3 Ener-G “eggs”)
  • Group 4
    • 1 cup (⅓ cup) unsweetened grape juice
    • juice from 1 lemon (⅓)
    • juice from 1 orange (⅓)
    • 2 oz. (1 oz.) dark rum
 Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
  2. Mix together Group 1 in a bowl.
  3. Mix together Group 2 in a second bowl.
  4. Cream together Group 3 in a third bowl.
  5. Mix together Group 4 in a fourth bowl.
  6. Mix groups together alternately.
  7. If too stiff, add a little milk.
  8. Line loaf pans with waxed paper (parchment paper) (2 pans? (I used 1 pan for ⅓ size recipe)), with the wax side facing inward.
  9. Bake for 3 – 3 ½ hours (3 ½ hours).

Grandma used to slice the loaves and then it was inhaled by all around!

In the next little while, I’ll get all the necessary ingredients and attempt my own vegan version of this recipe … and as such, I’ll post the revised recipe to this post.

Update (12-21-13): I finally got the ingredients and found the time to make this recipe! And it turns out it’s NOT actually the Christmas Cake I thought it was! So I’ll have to see if I can look through her recipe drawer on Christmas and find the one I wanted to make.

However, this is a really good cake. It’s fully of fruity goodness, but my ⅓ sized recipe seems to be more crumbly than it maybe should be … it’s really good eaten in a bowl, kind of like a cereal without milk!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

