Greens (Variation No. 1)

IMG_3514
Original recipe from the eBook Vegan Cooking at Home from The Vegan Project.
Ingredients
  • 2 cups chopped greens
  • ½ cup diced tofu
  • ½ Roma tomato, diced
  • 1″ English cucumber, peeled & diced
  • ¼ avocado, diced
  • Drizzle extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Nutritional yeast
 Instructions
  1. In a pot with a steamer top, boil about 2″ water.
  2. Add greens and steam for maybe 3 – 5 minutes.
  3. Place steamed greens in a bowl and top with diced tofu, veggies, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and nutritional yeast.

My thoughts: I used 1 leaf of romaine, 1 leaf of kale and about 10 leaves of spinach. I also used the medium-firm tofu that I opened yesterday and had in the fridge, but this firmness of tofu is just a little to smooshy for me, so I might go with a firm or extra firm next time. Lastly, I think I might use a bigger bowl or drizzle the oil and sprinkle the seasonings on the greens first, before adding the chopped items.

Overall, I’m pretty satiated … we’ll see how long it lasts! Normally I have a smoothie or granola with coconut milk and q’ia mix for breakfast and that keeps the hunger pangs away until around 10 am.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

