Eggs Benedict

IMG_3490

Original recipe from http://www.ehow.com

Since becoming a vegan at the beginning of 2013, one dish I have missed INTENSELY is my Mom’s Eggs Benedict. We usually have this Christmas morning … or really any morning that I have stayed the previous night because that is not that often since I live a mere 15 minute walk away!

The original recipe served 4 and as such, I have reduced it to serve 2.

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb extra firm tofu
  • ⅛ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • ⅛ cup apple cider vinegar
  • ⅛ tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp butter (Earth Balance)
  • 4 oz Better Than Sour Cream sour cream (Tofutti)
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • ½ pinch cayenne
  • ½ tbsp lemon juice, fresh
  • 2 English muffins, vegan of course, toasted
  • 4 slices faux Canadian bacon (Yves)
 Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees and lightly grease a baking dish.
  2. Drain and rinse the tofu, slice into 4 pieces and arrange in a single layer in the baking dish.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, vinegar and salt then pour over the tofu.
  4. Bake the tofu for 20 minutes, flipping it over after 10 minutes.
  5. When the 20 minutes has come and gone, drain any excess liquid and bake a few minutes longer until golden and crispy.
  6. In a sauce pan, melt the butter over medium-low heat.
  7. Add the sour cream, spices and lemon juice.
  8. Heat this thoroughly but do not let it boil.
  9. Top each English muffin slice with a piece of Canadian bacon, piece of tofu and helping of Hollandaise sauce.

UPDATE AFTER MAKING: this turned out AMAZING!!! I made only 1 serving instead of the 2 I have in the recipe, so I again just halved it. However, after the “Hollandaise” was done, I thought it was a bit not lemony enough, so I added the (½ amount) lemon juice again; so in theory, I actually did not half the lemon juice portion! I paired it with ½ a banana and ½ an apple and now I’m very full! Not overly stuffed, but definitely full!

Also, I might make the tofu round next time, just so that it looks more “real” LOL!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

