Yellow Rice

IMG_3453

Truth be told – I have not actually made nor tried this recipe yet. However, it sounds great and it fits perfectly with my Authentic Yellow Dal recipe!

UPDATE: the recipe has officially been made and tested! Changes below and picture above!

This recipe was taken from Eat Right 4 Your Type website and Type A blood.

Ingredients:

  • 2 (not 4 as original) tbsp butter (Earth Balance)
  • ¼ (actual onion, not cup as original) onion, chopped
  • 2 (not 1 as original) clove garlic, minced
  • 1 (not 1 ½ as original) cups basmati rice, uncooked (I didn’t have basmati, so I used jasmine)
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • ½ cup water (I didn’t actually use the water)
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp sea salt
 Instructions
  1. Melt butter in a sauce pan and sauté onion for 2 minutes.
  2. Add garlic – sauté 1 minute.
  3. Add rice – sauté 2 minutes.
  4. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.
  5. Reduce heat to simmer, cover and cook for 20 minutes.
  6. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

Once I actually make and try this, I’ll be sure to update this post!

UPDATE: I reduced the amount of butter because it was just too buttery. When it says “simmer” it really means “simmer” … I had to put my burner on 1 (whereas I would normally use 2 – 3 for “simmer”). It didn’t suggest stirring, but I did a few times – which was good because the rice was starting to stick to the bottom of my pan.

All in all, this is a really great dish. I am very excited to try it tomorrow with Authentic Yellow Dal for lunch!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

