Authentic Yellow Dal

IMG_3477

This first picture is the recipe made with moong dal – much more preferred and actually yellow!

IMG_3451

This second picture is using dry yellow split peas (it turned out a lot darker than yellow).

About a month ago a coworker of mine suggested I go see her aesthetician. She works from her home and is great (is what I was told). What I was happy to experience was a GREAT aesthetician!

I went back today to see her again, but not before I stopped at the Whole Foods Market to pick up some yellow split peas because I have been doing a LOT of research to find an AMAZING Yellow Dal recipe.

One thing about my aesthetician is that she is East Indian. Today I mentioned the yellow dal and she proceeded to tell me about her (authentic) yellow dal recipe! Before I left, I ensured to write down the recipe!

Pretty much as soon as I got home I decided to get this on the go. I NEEDED to see if THIS would be my FAVOURITE recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup moong dal (this is the best option yet – I found in the bulk section at Superstore)
    • Option: 1 cup yellow split peas (dry, not soaked)
      • Option: soak peas for 1 hours
  • 4 cups water (this is the best option yet)
    • Option: 6 cups water (for dry split peas)
      • Option: if using soaked split peas, only use 4 cups of water
  • 1 tsp Garam Masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • ½ white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp whole cumin seeds
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 inch ginger, peeled & finely chopped
 Instructions
  1. In a pot, combine moong dal (or split peas) through first olive oil.
  2. Bring to a boil then reduce to medium heat and continue to lightly boil.
  3. Continue to cook until moong dal soften – approximately 20 minutes (split peas take approximately 1 ½ hours (from dry) or approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour (from soaked)).
  4. In a separate pan, combine onion through second olive oil.
  5. Saute on medium until onions start to brown.
  6. Add tomatoes & ginger and cook until tomatoes soften.
  7. Add lentils to tomatoes and mix together.
  8. Serve with Yellow Rice.

After cooking finished and I dished myself a serving, I sat down and thoroughly enjoyed this dish! I cannot believe how TASTY it was! I’m glad it made a decent amount because it will DEFINITELY be my lunch tomorrow!

Sending out many thanks to my aesthetician on an absolutely Authentic Yellow Dal recipe!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

