Nutty-Seed Cupcakes … or Bites

One of the vegan athletes that inspires me is Brendan Brazier.

Brendan was a professional Ironman until 2004. He has put out a few books (all of which I now have!):

  • Thrive Diet
  • Thrive Fitness
  • Whole Foods to Thrive
  • Thrive Energy Cookbook

The latter was received a week ago for my 32nd birthday from my parents. I’ve been engrossed with this book and have made a few of the recipes already. I did a big shop this weekend to pick up more ingredients to make some recipes again and to make others for the first time.

When I first made this recipe, I made it into regular sized cupcakes … but they were big and honestly, a mini-sized cupcake would suffice. I decided this time to make them into little cupcakes, but had no lines to easily remove from the tin, so they ended up being bites instead.

IMG_3846

Ingredients:

  • 2 large Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1 cup raw walnuts
  • ½ cup raw sunflower seeds
  • ¼ cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • ¼ cup chia seeds
  • ½ cup almond butter (I used peanut butter)
  • ¼ cup coconut nectar or maple syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Process until smooth.
  3. Spoon the mixture into muffin tins, or shape as wished.
  4. Refrigerate about 30 minutes until firmed up.
  5. Frost with icing, if desired.

I iced the regular size ‘cupcakes’ the first time, but the bites don’t really have a shape to hold icing; however, I guess you could always indent the bites with your thumb for a little icing-well!

IMG_3822

I highly recommend you go purchase this book as it is chock full of amazing recipes! The book, in paper, in Canada is $32 and on iBooks it is $13.99

IMG_3817

Tagged

Leave a comment